Sections

Party time

Lady Marmalade: Legendary singer Patti LaBelle will open the 41st annual Bric Celebrate Brooklyn! Festival on June 4.
Brooklyn Paper
Share on TwitterTweet
Share on Facebook
Subscribe

Don’t miss our updates:

Let’s Celebrate, and have a good time!

Brooklyn’s biggest outdoor music series, the Bric Celebrate Brooklyn! Festival, will kick off on June 4 with an appearance from American gospel legend Patti LaBelle! The diva’s epic opener will be followed by a stellar lineup of 21 free musical performances, two films screenings, a pair of dance shows, and five paid concerts to help pay the bills. Columbia’s Bomba Estereo will close out the series on Aug. 10.

Those who really want to support the free music series can stop by the Revel fund-raising gala that will precede the opening show. The party, at the Prospect Park Bandshell at 5:30 pm, before LaBelle’s performance, will honor Bric’s outgoing chairwoman Hilary Ackermann. Tickets start at $750.

Those who want to support the series a little less can drop a suggested $5 into the buckets, at the entrance to each of the summer’s 21 free concerts.

Here is the schedule, to help you plan your summer:

All events at Prospect Park Bandshell [enter at Ninth Street and Prospect Park West in Park Slope, (718) 683–5600, www.bricartsmedia.org/cb].

Tuesday, June 4: Patti LaBelle. 8 p.m. Free.

Saturday, June 8: Ibeyi. Sudan Archives and Orion Sun open. 7 p.m. Free.

Thursday, June 13: The National. Courtney Barnett opens. 7 p.m. $65 ($59.50 in advance).

Saturday, June 15: Rich Medina, with Shareef Keyes and the Groove. 3 p.m. Free.

Wednesday, June 19: Father John Misty, with Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit. Jade Bird opens. 6:30 p.m. $65.

Thursday, June 20: Tank and the Bangas. Cory Henry and the Funk Apostles open. 7:30 p.m. Free.

Friday, June 21: Calexico with Iron and Wine. Adia Victoria opens. 7:30 p.m. Free.

Saturday, June 22: Tortoise plays its album “TNT.” Emily Wells and the Metropolis Ensemble open. 7:30 p.m. Free.

Wednesday, June 26: Chucho Valdes. Dafnis Prieto si o si Quartet opens. 7:30 p.m. Free.

Thursday, June 27: Protoje. With Jah9, DJ Top Notch, and Micro Don. Jah9 will lead a “Yoga on Dub” class before the show. 7:30 p.m. Free.

Friday, June 28: Celso Pina. Dos Santos and Riobamba open. 7:30 p.m. Free.

Saturday, June 29: Liz Phair, with Ted Leo and the Pharmacists. Caroline Rose opens. 7 p.m. Free.

Friday, July 5: Mick Jenkins, with Leikel47. Leven Kali and Joy Postell open. 7:30 p.m. Free.

Saturday, July 6: Oddisee, with 47Soul. Narcy opens. 7 p.m. Free.

Friday, July 12: Gaby Moreno and Friends, with Enjambre. El David Aguilar opens. Part of the annual Latin Alternative Music Conference. 7 p.m. Free.

Saturday, July 13: Salif Keita. Courtnee Roze opens. 7:30 p.m. Free.

Thursday, July 18: I’m With Her. Darlingside opens. 7:30 p.m. Free.

Friday, July 19: Burna Boy. Sampa the Great and DJ Tunez open. 7:30 p.m. Free.

Saturday, July 20: Film, “Varieté,” with a live soundtrack from Alloy Orchestra, and dance from Lava. 8 p.m. Free.

Thursday, July 25: Broken Social Scene. Nilufer Yanya opens. 7:30 p.m. Free.

Friday, July 26: Jidenna, with Anik Khan. DJ Moma opens. 7:30 p.m. Free.

Saturday, July 27: Dance, Compagnie Herve Koubi performs “What The Day Owes To The Night.” 8 p.m. Free.

Friday, Aug. 2: DJ Nosaj Thing. Kimbra and Bells Atlas open. 7 p.m. Free.

Saturday, Aug. 3: Film, “Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon.” A Tai Chi lesson precedes the movie. 7:30 p.m. Free.

Tuesday, Aug. 6: Mac DeMarco. 7:30 p.m. $45.

Thursday, Aug. 8: Dance, Ailey II, the Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater’s second company. 8 p.m. Free.

Friday, Aug. 9: Marvin Gaye’s 1971 album “What’s Going On,” performed by Felicia Collins, Toshi Reagon, Siedah Garrett, Kecia Lewis, and more. 7:30 p.m. Free.

Saturday, Aug. 10: Bomba Estereo. Delsonido opens. 7:30 p.m. Free.

Reach reporter Colin Mixson at cmixson@cnglocal.com or by calling (718) 260-4505.
Posted 12:00 am, May 28, 2019
Today’s news:
Share on TwitterTweet
Share on Facebook
Subscribe

Don’t miss our updates:


Reasonable discourse

Comments closed.

First name
Last name
Your neighborhood
Email address
Daytime phone

Your letter must be signed and include all of the information requested above. (Only your name and neighborhood are published with the letter.) Letters should be as brief as possible; while they may discuss any topic of interest to our readers, priority will be given to letters that relate to stories covered by The Brooklyn Paper.

Letters will be edited at the sole discretion of the editor, may be published in whole or part in any media, and upon publication become the property of The Brooklyn Paper. The earlier in the week you send your letter, the better.

Keep it local!

Stay in touch with your community. Subscribe to our free newsletter: